Journal Search Engine
Search Advanced Search Adode Reader(link)
Download PDF Export Citaion korean bibliography PMC previewer
ISSN : 1229-9618(Print)
ISSN : 2671-7506(Online)
Chinese Studies Vol.77 pp.539-567

A Review on the Current Status of Establishment and Operation of Chinese Buddhist Academy and the Composition of the Academic System


There are about 40-60 official Buddhist academies in China. Buddhist Academies can be divided into Middle and high Buddhist academy. In this paper, these Buddhist Academies were divided into two aspects: operation and academic organization. In terms of operation, there are independent type, main-branch type, and joint university type. General Buddhist academies belong to the independent type, and ‘The Buddhist Academy of China’(中国佛学院) and their branches belong to this main-branch type. The main-branch type is based on the Chinese Buddhist Association’s strategy to spread the teaching system and political stability of the Buddhist Academy Of China. joint university type include ‘Guangdong Buddhism Academy’(广东佛学院), ‘ZheJiang Buddhism Academy’(浙江 佛学院), and ‘Jiangsu Buddhism Academy’(江苏佛学院). Buddhist associations in each province are trying to raise the level of education and secure political stability by tying existing Buddhist academies. In terms of academic organization, the Buddhist Academy consists of a system of Zhongzhuan(2years), Da-zhuan(3years), A secondary(2years), undergraduate(4years), and class for research work(3 years). It can be seen that the academic system of Buddhist academies generally constitutes a seven-grade education system by adding basic four grades and auxiliary three grades. If ‘Yangzhengyuan’(养正院) is added to this official organization, it can be understood as an eight-class system. 저


중국에는 파악 가능한 불학원이 60-70여 개 존재한다. 이 불학원들은 중등불학원 과 고등불학원으로 나눌 수 있는데, 본 논문에서는 이들 불학원에 대해 설립 및 운 영 현황과 학제 구성의 두 측면으로 나누어 고찰해보았다. 설립 및 운영의 측면으로 보면 독립형, 본교-분교형, 연합대학형이 있다. 독립형은 불학원 설립의 기본형에 속 하고, 본교-분교형에는 중국불학원과 그 분원들이 이에 속한다. 연합대학형에는 광둥 불학원, 저장불학원, 장쑤불학원 등이 이에 속한다. 학제 편성의 측면으로 보면 중전 (2년), 대전(3년), 예과(2년), 본과(4년), 연구생(3년)의 체계로 구성되어 있다. 여기에 남아 있는 초급불학원과 양정원(养正院)을 더해 7등급 체계로 이해할 수도 있다.